Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Trumbull News Detail

Tunnel of Oppression poster contest winners announced

Posted Mar. 29, 2011

In conjunction with the annual display of the "Tunnel of Oppression" on the campus of Kent StateFeminine Mystique - 1st Place University at Trumbull, the winners of a 2011 poster contest that was held in association with the tunnel have been announced.

Generated and supported by the Kent State Trumbull Diversity Council, the "Tunnel of Oppression" was put on display in the Theatre/Library Building beginning in mid-February and will remain there through early April.

The purpose of the project, according to Council members, is to evoke thought by removing spectators from their "comfort zones" and thereby "causing them to change their preconceived ideas about hate".

The 2011 tunnel addressed the "Five Faces of Oppression" which include exploitation, marginalization, powerlessness, cultural imperialism and violence. The basis for this year's theme came from the Iris Marion Young work, "Five Faces of Oppression".

Posters were to address the theme and illustrate and/or comment upon at least one "face" in some clear and coherent way.

Prizes were awarded as follows:

First Place: $100
Second Place: $75
Third Place: $50
Honorable mention (3): $25

Contestants had to be currently enrolled students at Kent State Trumbull at the time of submission with posters being no smaller than 8.5" x 11" and no larger than 22" x 28". No digital submissions were accepted.

Criteria for judging consisted of over-all power of message, clarity, coherence, emotional tension, logical stance, honesty, originality, and creativity.

First place was awarded to "The Feminine Mystique has succeeded in burying millions of American women alive", created by Lyndi Schrecengost, Cheri Raber, Douglas Willrich and Sandy Maynard.  

Blindfolded - 3rd Place"Woman-shaped Poster", created by Amanda Hopkins, Bethany Collins, Charisse Currence, Emily Denison and Irene Hargrave, earned second-place honors.  

Third place was awarded to "Blind-folded Woman with Scales" by Ruth Pfaff, David Barnes, Melissa Machingo, Alicia Prussey and Sarah Davis.

Honoroable mention honors went to "Her Secret Struggle" by Dominic Massary, Jennifer Sergent, Clair Harris, Candice Ray and Nicole Clover and "Women are the only oppressed group in our society that lives in intimate association with their oppressors" from Lyndi Schrecengost.